(FM24) SAF Challenge – Brentford FC

Can I emulate one of the greatest managers of all time in this challenge…

STARTING THE SAF CHALLENGE ON FM24…

This Involved me simulating the game on FM24 until the 6th November and taking over the club that sits in 19th in the Premier League on that day, pretty much what Sir Alex Ferguson did did back in 1986 (I was two years & half years old) when he took over the reins of Manchester United. Also, I’d like to say I am not a United fan, however I have massive respect for what Sir Alex achieved, a true legend and one of the greatest managers in the English game. Also I am not a fan of any Premier League clubs so I am not fussed at which club I get but you’ll already be aware of the club via the thumbnail for the FM24 series anyway…

RULES TO THE SAF CHALLENGE…

You need to;

  • Stay at one club – The Scotsman managed Man United for 26 years.
  • Aim to bring Youth Players through – “Class of 92“.
  • Persuade long term players to become part of your backroom staff.

Goals of the Challenge;

  • Win a Domestic Cup/Trophy within 4 seasons – Ferguson won his first Cup vs Crystal Palace in 89/90.
  • Win a League title within 7 seasons – Ferguson won his first title in 92/93.
  • Win a League and Cup double within 8 seasons – Ferguson won his first double with United in 93/94.
  • Win a League, Cup and the Champions League within 13 seasons – Ferguson won the infamous treble in 98/99.

Total number of trophies that the Scotsman won during his managerial career at Old Trafford;

  • Premier League (13)
  • FA Cup (5)
  • League Cup (4)
  • Community Shield (10)
  • UEFA Champions League (2)
  • UEFA Europa League (1) (Replaces the Cup Winners Cup)
  • UEFA Super Cup (1)
  • FIFA Club World Cup (2) (One Replaces Intercontinental Cup)

A few rules to follow when taking this Football Manager Challenge on;

  • No usage of the in-game editor – Which I never have on anyway. Also, have Real World transfers on and the first window disabled to add that little bit of a challenge.
  • No buying or selling from/to your direct rival. – This depends on the club I get really. Plus it’s difficult if one of the so called top six club come in and offer you £100m + for a player, I don’t think anyone would reject it in this day and age compared to when Sir Alex was manager.
  • No more than 11 signings per season, of which only 8 can play in the first team that season.
  • Spending restrictions.
  • Promote as many youth players as you can and have a minimum of 1 player promoted from the youth academy in every single matchday squad.
  • Promote at least 1 new player to the youth academy to the senior team every single season.
  • Sacked or Relegation the challenge comes to an end.

ON 6th NOVEMBER 2023…

The Premier League table looks like this…

So its Brentford that sit in 19th place, which I am surprised to see them so far down the league table to be fair as I thought they would have been higher up the table. I was thinking it would have been more like Burnley, Luton or Sheffield United I would have takeover as manager but I was so wrong.

Well, it could have been Burnley if it wasn’t for that points deduction for Everton or if the Bees scored difference wasn’t greater than Burnley’s. The Bees league record so far isn’t the greatest with them only winning once. However, they are only two points from getting out of the relegation zone we ain’t to bad to be honest and doable. But, my first two games in charge are against North London clubs Tottenham and Arsenal. Also, we are out of the Carabao Cup beaten in the 3rd round by Aston Villa.

BREAKING NEWS

CoxieFM takes over the reins as the new Bee’s manager and replaces previous manager Thomas Frank…Only time will tell if I can rescue the Bee’s from the drop and lead them on to greatness…

TACTIC

Before we get into the action, I wanted to you show the tactic I will be using for this challenge and its somethings a lot different to what I normally play with. If you know me or seen my content before I like playing an asymmetric tactic but not this time.

Going to use a 352 which has been created by FRANKLYFM84. The link to the tactic is here.

FINAL WORDS

CoxieFM is completely dedicated to all things Football Manager since 2020…

All updates of my saves from July 2024 will be posted FM Career Updates on the Sports Interactive Community page & in the FM Library Discord channel. The odd blog can be found in the current saves tab.


Leave a comment